Investing in yourself

About 9 months ago I made my first big investment in my future career. I invested in my first proper professional camera. I bought a newly released A7Sii and I love it, its the best thing I’ve ever bought. It took me probably about a year to work out what camera I wanted to buy and it was a scary experience. It wasn’t £300 on a 600d I bought when I started college this was a serious chunk of money and a big commitment.

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-14-51-26

Investing in yourself is a terrifying thing to do when you start in the industry. Of course you don’t need to buy a camera to work but getting into freelance jobs like I wanted I decided it would be very beneficial and make me look more professional and more appealing to employers who don’t want to pay to rent a camera and a person. Both in one package is just more of an attractive proposition. Investing in myself for me was a lot more than saving up for ages it was about showing faith in myself. For me that can be tricky sometimes and I can suffer from a lack of self confidence on occasions.

Investing in myself taught me an important lesson, Investing in yourself is one of the best returns on investments you can have. I learnt that investing in yourself, sends a powerful message to yourself and the world. The message is that the value and potential that I possess, is important enough to me that I’m going to give it the energy, space and time to grow and create results.

Investing in yourself however doesn’t always mean money, a lot of investing in yourself means mentally backing yourself and having a plan for succeeding in what you want too. For me one of the most important things to do is set goals. It took me a while to realise I needed to set personal and business goals for myself. I realised if i’m not taking the time to set goals it’s like driving in the dark with the headlights turned off. I would never know where I was going and would waste my time. Another vital thing for me was backing my intuition. Simply trusting yourself, your gut and the message that it’s sending. Listening to your intuition, will allow you to make better decisions. Valuing your intuition, by not allowing the thoughts, feelings or statements of others to take away from what you know to be true is very empowering. By paying attention to how you feel, it will help you to make better, smarter and quicker decisions. I know for me personally, if I choose to ignore my gut or intuition when I feel a strong feeling about something, it almost always is a decision or action that I end up regretting. I have learned to always trust my intuition and that is what leads me in my life and business.

Leave a Reply

